Completion of a Traditional Scrapbook, Part 1: Think About It

2 Jan

I am getting a little behind in my annual albums, and I think that it’s because at one point I decided, Hey I’ll just do digital from now on–it’s so quick and easy! Well, yes, it is, but if you have a lot of memorabilia, scanning isn’t that fun and it is very time-consuming. And those Creative Memories traditional album covers are SO beautiful. So I’ve decided that my family 2008 album is going to be traditional.

Now I am a busy gal, and I know a lot of you are too, so I thought I’d take you along on my journey of completing a traditional scrapbook. I will not have time to work on my album every day, and you will get some insight on how I keep it simple. Some of these processes are the same I go through for a digital album, but I think people need more help simplifying traditional scrapbooking. Sometimes it is faster for me than digital! The first step is just to think about what you want to accomplish!

  1. What story will your next album tell? What photos and memorabilia will you need to find, print, etc., for it? Just think about it and decide.
  2. What Power Palette System design will be best-suited for this story? Just think about it and decide.
  3. What album coverset will be just right for that Power Palette? Just think about it and decide.
  4. Finally, what color pages will you use? Just think… well, you get the idea.

That’s all I’ve got time to do on my album today. For my project, these are my answers to the above questions:

  1. My album will tell the story of my family’s life in 2008. I’ll need our 2008 family photos and memorabilia, but I won’t use our vacation photos, the kids’ birthdays, or the annual Santa picture, because I keep separate albums for those occasions.
  2. I’ve decided I can’t wait to get my hands on the Reminisce Power Palette System and use it–it’s great for heritage albums, but I want it in my family album. Though the system is enough to complete an entire album, I also want to use the Reminisce Christmas and Winter Additions and the Hanukkah Additions, because they fit the photos I’ve got from that year. (If Reminisce Easter was available, I’d use that, too, but I am NOT going to wait for as-yet-non-existent products to complete my albums!)
  3. The Moss coverset was made for the Reminisce Power Palette–I have one that has a beautiful imprint that is no longer available; if I didn’t have that one, I’d get it imprinted with a beautiful Persona design.
  4. I will use Natural colored pages. For me, having white pages waiting to be filled begins a session of Writer’s Block! Also, it’s easier for me to feel like I don’t have to cover every bit of the page when I use something other than white. :)

© Carolyn Gordon and Cropping with Care, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from Carolyn Gordon is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carolyn Gordon and Cropping with Care with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Carolyn Gordon is an independent consultant and the opinions and content on this site are not necessarily endorsed by Creative Memories. Power Palette is a trademark of Creative Memories. Reminisce Power Palette designs are © Creative Memories.

Leave a Reply

