Pictures Are Cheap; Memories Are Priceless

4 Jan

picture of flowersI’m not working on my 2008 family album project today, but I do want to share some numbers with you. My family took nearly 2500 pictures in 2008 (for which I kept the photo files; numerous others were deleted). Of those, I chose about 400 to print for this album. As I go through the next couple of steps toward completion, the number of pictures I’m using may get smaller still. (Some of the unprinted pictures I have are destined for other albums, but most won’t be used.)

My point is that you do not have to scrapbook every photo you take! Photography has come a long way in a short time. Taking digital pictures costs nothing, and prints are very inexpensive. It is more important to me that the events and the everyday of my family’s life are remembered and kept as a legacy for my children, than having every photo in an album. I can choose, celebrate, and display the best of the bunch! Editing down the number of photos I preserve in albums, and keeping my album-making and my album pages simple, are the main ways completed scrapbooks (whether traditional or digital) are possible for me.

Just something to consider! :) And by the way, even if I were to change my scrapbooking style to a highly designer-decorative one (and if I had that talent!), the steps I use to complete scrapbooks would remain the same. You artists out there can still follow along with the steps I’m laying out!

© Carolyn Gordon and Cropping with Care, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from Carolyn Gordon is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carolyn Gordon and Cropping with Care with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Carolyn Gordon is an independent consultant and the opinions and content on this site are not necessarily endorsed by Creative Memories.

One Response to “Pictures Are Cheap; Memories Are Priceless”

  1. Valerie Goettsch December 13, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Thank you for pointing out that you don’t need to use every photo you take for a particular project. I was pulling out my hair trying to sift through my Hawaii vacation photos for my digital photo book and it paid off to just use my favorites. Quality over quantity wins.

Leave a Reply

