Completion of a Traditional Scrapbook, Part 6: Power Layouts

14 Jan

Today I laid out sixty (60) scrapbook pages. It took the better part of the afternoon and early evening with a few breaks, but I like to focus on this scrapbooking step, Power Layouts, till it’s done because it takes up space. It’s not something I can just leave out for awhile and work on from time to time throughout the week.

Before we get into Power Layouts, I want to show you the paper I cut yesterday as an extra baby-step toward laying out pages. I cut out more shapes than I normally do for an album, because I was just having too much fun! I then glued some to their shadow-papers with the Precision Point Adhesive. They were ready to go for today!

When setting up for Power Layouts, the general idea is to use as much space as you can in a way where you have access to what you use. At the moment, our good tables are being used for other things, so I grabbed two plastic 6-footers out of our garage and plopped them right in the middle of the den. I stood the entire time I was laying out pages, so no chairs to get in the way. On one table, I laid out my pages using the Power Layouts Kit, and on the other, I had my tools, decorative supplies, pages — oh, and my photos and memorabilia, of course! Notice that my Creative Cuts Collection and my Cricut machine aren’t set out — one of the reasons I pre-cut those shapes pictured above yesterday was so I wouldn’t need all my tools out. (Fewer choices to make at any given time makes scrapbooking go much faster, too.)

I am not going to go into the nitty-gritty of how to do Power Layouts here; you should ask your Creative Memories Consultant to teach you. And I didn’t come up with the method that I use, so I feel like it would almost be plagiarism to write about how I do it here. You will not believe how much quicker it goes until you try it. Let me emphasize that the Power Layouts Kit is my 2nd-favorite traditional scrapbooking tool because it makes scrapping so much faster (right behind the Personal Trimmer)! Ask your Consultant about the every-other page method of using this tool, also — I will never use it any other way (and if you know the name of the brilliant Consultant who came up with that method, please credit her in the comments)!

One more thing to note: my scrapbook is not complete quite yet. My laid-out pages are now safely stored in my Power Layouts Box, ready to be assembled later; nothing is adhered to pages at the moment. And I’ll have a few more to lay out afterward; I have the Power Layouts Kit and one additional pack of Power Layouts Dividers. Using the every-other page method, that allows me to lay out no more than sixty pages at a time.

© Carolyn Gordon and Cropping with Care, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from Carolyn Gordon is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Carolyn Gordon and Cropping with Care with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Carolyn Gordon is an independent consultant and the opinions and content on this site are not necessarily endorsed by Creative Memories. Power Layouts, Precision Point Adhesive, and Creative Cuts are trademarks of Creative Memories. Reminisce designs are © Creative Memories.

3 Responses to “Completion of a Traditional Scrapbook, Part 6: Power Layouts”

  1. Renee April 20, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Hi, my name is Renee and I’ve been looking for Lilac 0722 and I noticed you have one skein stashed. I’d love to purchase it so that I may finish the sweater I’m making. Love to hear from you and thanks, RENEE

    • Carolyn Gordon April 20, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      Hello! Will dye lot 33818 work for you? I don’t have a whole skein; I used part of it for a flower. You’re welcome to the rest if we can figure out how much shipping and a box would be. :) I also won’t have time till after Easter to ship it! Let me know through Ravelry instead–my user id is croppingwithcare. TTYL, Care

  2. Tom the Scrapbooks Ideas Dude December 9, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    Scrapbooking can be a great hobby. And it is also a great way to preserve memories and organize them in a way that is fun to look back through later. There are many scrapbook ideas and ways to do it.

    First you need to decide if you want a physical scrapbook or a digital scrapbook. Then decide how you want to lay it out

Leave a Reply

